# Muaūpoko

Horowhenua iwi. Guardians of Lake Horowhenua. Treaty settlement in 2022.

**Rohe:** Horowhenua, Levin  
**Post-settlement governance entity:** Muaūpoko Tribal Authority

## Treaty settlement
No Treaty settlement is recorded for this entity in our data. That is not evidence no settlement exists — Te Arawhiti is authoritative.

## Financials (FY ending 2020-03-31)
| Measure | Value (NZD) |
|---|---|
| Total assets | $1.9M |
| Net assets | $1.7M |
| Total revenue | $1.6M |
| Surplus / (deficit) | $373k |

3 financial years held, 2011–2020.

## Commercial entities (1)
- **Muaūpoko Trading Company Ltd** — fisheries, Company

## Asset portfolio
- property: $609k
- fisheries_quota: not disclosed
- financial_investments: not disclosed

## Governance
22 current board members. Names, roles and governance fees are **not** available from this endpoint — iwi people data is deliberately excluded from machine-readable republication for privacy and tikanga reasons.

## Also a registered charity
Muaupoko Tribal Authority Incorporated (CC44558) — annual returns are on the Charities Register.

## Sources
- [Muaūpoko (official website)](https://www.muaupoko.iwi.nz) — The iwi’s own published material, which takes precedence over our reproduction of it.
- [Te Puni Kōkiri — Te Kāhui Māngai](https://www.tkm.govt.nz/) — Official directory of iwi, hapū and marae, and of post-settlement governance entities.
- [Charities Services — Charities Register](https://register.charities.govt.nz/) — Annual returns and financial statements for registered charitable PSGEs.
- [New Zealand Companies Office](https://companies-register.companiesoffice.govt.nz/) — Incorporation, status and directors of iwi-owned companies.

## Citation
IwiData NZ, https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-entities/muaupoko

Methodology: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-methodology · Data sources and corrections: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-data-sources

*Iwi data is a taonga. IwiData republishes information iwi and Crown agencies have already made public, and recognises that authority over Māori data rests with Māori. May contain errors; the iwi’s own published material takes precedence.*
