# Ngāi Tai ki Tāmaki

Auckland/Hauraki Gulf iwi. Treaty settlement in 2018.

**Rohe:** Tāmaki Makaurau, Te Motutapu a Taikehu  
**Entity type:** Post-Settlement Governance Entity  
**Post-settlement governance entity:** Ngāi Tai ki Tāmaki Trust  
**Registered members:** 1,580

## Treaty settlement
Settled 2018-01-01.

**Cultural redress:** Cultural redress assets including Motutapu Island (453 hectares marine footprint), land properties with protection and restoration requirements (Te Ngahere o Kohukohunui, ngā moutere katoa, Waikōpua ki Uta, Waikōpua ki Tai, Motukaraka, Te Naupata, Hihiorapa Urupā, Te Tuhi o Manawatere, Hinemairangi, Mātaitai Forest), Umupuia Marae facilities, urupā designation opportunities

## Financials (FY ending 2025-03-31)
| Measure | Value (NZD) |
|---|---|
| Total assets | $34.2M |
| Net assets | $34.2M |
| Total revenue | $5.2M |
| Surplus / (deficit) | $1.4M |
| Employees | 20 |

2 financial years held, 2018–2025.

## Commercial entities (7)
- **Ngāi Tai ki Tāmaki Charitable Investment Trust** — investment / commercial, Trust
- **Ngāi Tai ki Tāmaki Waiora Limited** — aquaculture, Company
- **Ngāi Tai ki Tāmaki Whenua Limited** — property development / property, Company
- **Pou Tāngata Ngāi Tai ki Tāmaki Community Development Trust** — community development / social services, Trust
- **Te Haerenga Limited** — tourism / visitor experiences, Company (NZ Companies Office 1490296)
- **Te Haerenga o Ngāi Tai ki Tāmaki Limited** — tourism, Company (NZ Companies Office 5639327)
- **Waiora Limited** — aquaculture / mussel farming, Company (NZ Companies Office 9386374)

## Asset portfolio
- investment_property: $23.1M
- property: not disclosed
- aquaculture: not disclosed
- financial_investments: $5.2M
- property_plant_equipment: $10.3M
- cultural: not disclosed
- land: not disclosed

## Governance
21 current board members. Names, roles and governance fees are **not** available from this endpoint — iwi people data is deliberately excluded from machine-readable republication for privacy and tikanga reasons.

## Also a registered charity
Ngai Tai ki Tamaki Waiora Limited (CC54798) — annual returns are on the Charities Register.

## Sources
- [Ngāi Tai ki Tāmaki (official website)](https://www.ngaitaikitamaki.iwi.nz) — The iwi’s own published material, which takes precedence over our reproduction of it.
- [Te Puni Kōkiri — Te Kāhui Māngai](https://www.tkm.govt.nz/) — Official directory of iwi, hapū and marae, and of post-settlement governance entities.
- [Te Arawhiti — Office for Māori Crown Relations](https://www.tearawhiti.govt.nz/te-kahui-whakatau-treaty-settlements/) — Deeds of settlement, Crown apologies and settlement legislation.
- [Charities Services — Charities Register](https://register.charities.govt.nz/) — Annual returns and financial statements for registered charitable PSGEs.
- [New Zealand Companies Office](https://companies-register.companiesoffice.govt.nz/) — Incorporation, status and directors of iwi-owned companies.

## Citation
IwiData NZ, https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-entities/ngai-tai-ki-tamaki

Methodology: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-methodology · Data sources and corrections: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-data-sources

*Iwi data is a taonga. IwiData republishes information iwi and Crown agencies have already made public, and recognises that authority over Māori data rests with Māori. May contain errors; the iwi’s own published material takes precedence.*
