# Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi Incorporated

Third largest iwi. Rohe stretches from Wairoa to Wairarapa. Multiple hapū-level settlements.

**Rohe:** Heretaunga, Wairarapa, Te Wairoa  
**Entity type:** Incorporated Society  
**Post-settlement governance entity:** Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi Incorporated  
**Registered members:** 41,305

## Treaty settlement
Given effect by the Māori Fisheries Act 2004.

**Cultural redress:** Settlement assets held by KAHC including fisheries quota across 240 fishery stocks managed in accordance with Māori Fisheries Act 2004

## Financials (FY ending 2025-06-30)
| Measure | Value (NZD) |
|---|---|
| Total assets | $116.8M |
| Net assets | $74.1M |
| Total revenue | $32.2M |
| Commercial revenue | $28.2M |
| Surplus / (deficit) | $7.1M |

10 financial years held, 2016–2025.

## Commercial entities (10)
- **Aotearoa Fisheries Limited** — fisheries, Company (NZ Companies Office 449823)
- **Fiordland Lobster Company** — fisheries, Company (NZ Companies Office 407182)
- **K3 Development Limited Partnership** — property development, Limited Partnership
- **Kahungunu Asset Holding Company Limited** — fisheries / property / forestry / aquaculture, Company (NZ Companies Office 1632194)
- **Kahungunu Käinga Limited** — housing, Company
- **Kahutia** — forestry, Company
- **Napier Mussels Limited** — aquaculture, Company (NZ Companies Office 1067404)
- **Salco Quota Co** — fisheries, Company
- **Takitimu Seafoods Limited Partnership** — fisheries, Limited Partnership
- **Takitimu Transport Limited** — transport, Company (NZ Companies Office 7768216)

## Asset portfolio
- property: $5.5M
- farming: $32.9M
- financial_investments: not disclosed
- aquaculture: not disclosed
- forestry: $1.1M
- fisheries_quota: not disclosed
- fisheries: $3.2M

## Governance
17 current board members. Names, roles and governance fees are **not** available from this endpoint — iwi people data is deliberately excluded from machine-readable republication for privacy and tikanga reasons.

## Also a registered charity
Kahungunu Asset Holding Company Limited (CC37607) — annual returns are on the Charities Register.

## Sources
- [Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi Incorporated (official website)](https://www.kahungunu.iwi.nz) — The iwi’s own published material, which takes precedence over our reproduction of it.
- [Te Puni Kōkiri — Te Kāhui Māngai](https://www.tkm.govt.nz/) — Official directory of iwi, hapū and marae, and of post-settlement governance entities.
- [Te Arawhiti — Office for Māori Crown Relations](https://www.tearawhiti.govt.nz/te-kahui-whakatau-treaty-settlements/) — Deeds of settlement, Crown apologies and settlement legislation.
- [New Zealand Legislation](https://www.legislation.govt.nz/) — Settlement Acts.
- [Charities Services — Charities Register](https://register.charities.govt.nz/) — Annual returns and financial statements for registered charitable PSGEs.
- [New Zealand Companies Office](https://companies-register.companiesoffice.govt.nz/) — Incorporation, status and directors of iwi-owned companies.

## Citation
IwiData NZ, https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-entities/ngati-kahungunu

Methodology: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-methodology · Data sources and corrections: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-data-sources

*Iwi data is a taonga. IwiData republishes information iwi and Crown agencies have already made public, and recognises that authority over Māori data rests with Māori. May contain errors; the iwi’s own published material takes precedence.*
