# Ngāti Mutunga (Taranaki)

North Taranaki iwi. Treaty settlement in 2006.

**Rohe:** North Taranaki  
**Post-settlement governance entity:** Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Mutunga  
**Registered members:** 2,669

## Treaty settlement
Settled 2005-07-31. Given effect by the Treaty of Waitangi Settlement - Ngāti Mutunga.

**Cultural redress:** Ten cultural redress properties transferred to the Rūnanga: Onaero Site, Pukemiro Site, Te Rau O Te Huia Pā Site, Ngapapa Site, Urenui Site, Te Urenui Pā Site, Okoki Pā Site, Okoki Pā Historic Reserve, Onaero Domain Recreation Reserve, and Urenui Domain Recreation Reserve. Māori fisheries settlement quota for inshore and deep sea fishing.

## Financials (FY ending 2023-09-30)
| Measure | Value (NZD) |
|---|---|
| Total assets | $35.2M |
| Net assets | $34.0M |
| Total revenue | $3.2M |
| Surplus / (deficit) | $814k |
| Employees | 14 |

10 financial years held, 2010–2023.

## Commercial entities (11)
- **Maruehi Fisheries Limited** — fisheries, Company (NZ Companies Office 1862422)
- **Ngā Kai Tautoko Limited** — general partner, Company (NZ Companies Office 6157544)
- **Ngāti Mutunga Community Development Charitable Trust** — charitable / cultural / education / health, Trust
- **Ngāti Mutunga Custodian Company Limited** — custodian trustee, Company (NZ Companies Office 6186157)
- **Ngāti Mutunga Custodian Trustee Company Limited** — custodian / trustee, Company (NZ Companies Office 6186157)
- **Ngāti Mutunga Investment Charitable Trust** — long term investments / commercial properties, Other
- **Te Pou Herenga Pakihi Limited Partnership** — commercial / investment, Limited Partnership
- **Te Pou Herenga Pākihi Limited Partnership** — commercial investment, Limited Partnership
- **Te Pou Herenga Pakihi LP** — commercial / investments / property / agribusiness / fisheries, Limited Partnership
- **Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Mutunga** — governance, Other
- **Te Whiringa** — charitable/community development, Trust (NZ Companies Office 9252427)

## Asset portfolio
- fisheries_quota: $2.1M
- land: not disclosed
- property: $7.4M
- financial_investments: $11.0M
- cultural: not disclosed
- private_equity: not disclosed
- housing: $1.4M
- agricultural: $2.1M

## Governance
27 current board members. Names, roles and governance fees are **not** available from this endpoint — iwi people data is deliberately excluded from machine-readable republication for privacy and tikanga reasons.

## Also a registered charity
Te Whiringa Charitable Trust (CC34482) — annual returns are on the Charities Register.

## Sources
- [Ngāti Mutunga (Taranaki) (official website)](https://ngatimutunga.iwi.nz) — The iwi’s own published material, which takes precedence over our reproduction of it.
- [Te Puni Kōkiri — Te Kāhui Māngai](https://www.tkm.govt.nz/) — Official directory of iwi, hapū and marae, and of post-settlement governance entities.
- [Te Arawhiti — Office for Māori Crown Relations](https://www.tearawhiti.govt.nz/te-kahui-whakatau-treaty-settlements/) — Deeds of settlement, Crown apologies and settlement legislation.
- [New Zealand Legislation](https://www.legislation.govt.nz/) — Settlement Acts.
- [Charities Services — Charities Register](https://register.charities.govt.nz/) — Annual returns and financial statements for registered charitable PSGEs.
- [New Zealand Companies Office](https://companies-register.companiesoffice.govt.nz/) — Incorporation, status and directors of iwi-owned companies.

## Citation
IwiData NZ, https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-entities/ngati-mutunga

Methodology: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-methodology · Data sources and corrections: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-data-sources

*Iwi data is a taonga. IwiData republishes information iwi and Crown agencies have already made public, and recognises that authority over Māori data rests with Māori. May contain errors; the iwi’s own published material takes precedence.*
