# Ngāti Pāhauwera

Iwi of northern Hawkes Bay, Treaty settlement 2012

**Rohe:** Hawkes Bay  
**Post-settlement governance entity:** Ngāti Pāhauwera Development Trust  
**Registered members:** 8,370

## Treaty settlement
Settled 2008-09-27. Given effect by the Ngāti Pāhauwera Settlement Act 2012.

**Cultural redress:** Ngāti Pāhauwera Settlement Act passed 5 April 2012; compensation described as less than 2% of original land value; assets received for commercial and social development of beneficiaries

## Financials (FY ending 2025-06-30)
| Measure | Value (NZD) |
|---|---|
| Total assets | $123.3M |
| Net assets | $74.3M |
| Total revenue | $6.9M |
| Commercial revenue | $4.8M |
| Surplus / (deficit) | $-7.1M |
| Employees | 50 |

10 financial years held, 2019–2025.

## Commercial entities (8)
- **Mohaka Rafting Limited** — tourism, Company (NZ Companies Office 2317032)
- **Ngati Pahauwera Commercial Development Limited** — diversified - farming, horticulture, forestry, tourism, investments, Company (NZ Companies Office 3770879)
- **Ngāti Pāhauwera Commercial Development Limited** — commercial development / multi-sector, Company
- **Ngāti Pāhauwera Development Trust Ltd** — development, Company
- **Ngāti Pāhauwera Manaaki Trust** — social welfare / grants, Trust
- **Ngati Pahauwera Tiaki Custodian Ltd** — custodian services, Company (NZ Companies Office 3672191)
- **Ngāti Pāhauwera Tiaki Custodian Ltd** — custodial, Company
- **Ngāti Pāhauwera Tiaki Trust** — cultural / environmental, Trust

## Asset portfolio
- forestry: $58.8M
- farming: not disclosed
- horticulture: $17.6M
- tourism: not disclosed
- property: $9.0M
- other: $1.6M
- property_/_farming: $20.5M
- financial_investments: $5.4M

## Governance
19 current board members. Names, roles and governance fees are **not** available from this endpoint — iwi people data is deliberately excluded from machine-readable republication for privacy and tikanga reasons.

## Also a registered charity
Ngati Pahauwera Incorporated (CC27042) — annual returns are on the Charities Register.

## Sources
- [Ngāti Pāhauwera (official website)](https://ngatipahauwera.co.nz) — The iwi’s own published material, which takes precedence over our reproduction of it.
- [Te Puni Kōkiri — Te Kāhui Māngai](https://www.tkm.govt.nz/) — Official directory of iwi, hapū and marae, and of post-settlement governance entities.
- [Te Arawhiti — Office for Māori Crown Relations](https://www.tearawhiti.govt.nz/te-kahui-whakatau-treaty-settlements/) — Deeds of settlement, Crown apologies and settlement legislation.
- [New Zealand Legislation](https://www.legislation.govt.nz/) — Settlement Acts.
- [Charities Services — Charities Register](https://register.charities.govt.nz/) — Annual returns and financial statements for registered charitable PSGEs.
- [New Zealand Companies Office](https://companies-register.companiesoffice.govt.nz/) — Incorporation, status and directors of iwi-owned companies.

## Citation
IwiData NZ, https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-entities/ngati-pahauwera

Methodology: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-methodology · Data sources and corrections: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-data-sources

*Iwi data is a taonga. IwiData republishes information iwi and Crown agencies have already made public, and recognises that authority over Māori data rests with Māori. May contain errors; the iwi’s own published material takes precedence.*
