# Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Porou

East Coast iwi. Treaty settlement in 2012 ($110M). Strong forestry and fishing interests.

**Rohe:** Tairāwhiti (East Coast)  
**Entity type:** Post-Settlement Governance Entity  
**Post-settlement governance entity:** Te Rūnanganui o Ngāti Porou  
**Registered members:** 28,203

## Treaty settlement
Settled 2012-06-29. Total settlement $90.0M. Financial redress $90.0M. Given effect by the Ngāti Porou Treaty Settlement; Ngā Hapū o Ngāti Porou Foreshore and Seabed Deed of Agreement (signed 31 October 2008).

**Cultural redress:** Crown Forest Land returned through Treaty Settlement; Ngāti Porou Relationship Accord established as part of Settlement

## Financials (FY ending 2025-06-30)
| Measure | Value (NZD) |
|---|---|
| Total assets | $310.3M |
| Net assets | $263.7M |
| Total revenue | $71.8M |
| Commercial revenue | $3.4M |
| Surplus / (deficit) | $4.5M |
| Employees | 191 |

10 financial years held, 2010–2025.

## Commercial entities (68)
- **Ahi Mokopuna Limited Partnership** — salmon farming / aquaculture, Joint Venture
- **Amanti Tourism Limited** — tourism, Company (NZ Companies Office 6191083)
- **Amanti Tourism Ltd** — tourism, Company
- **Aotearoa Fisheries Limited** — fisheries, Associate (NZ Companies Office 449823)
- **Hauiti Berries** — horticulture / blueberry farming, Joint Venture
- **Hauiti Berries GP Ltd** — horticulture, Company (NZ Companies Office 7397237)
- **Hauiti Berries Limited Partnership** — berry production, Limited Partnership
- **Horouta Whanau Ora** — whanau ora services, health, Other
- **ICP General Partner Ltd** — other, Company (NZ Companies Office 3140305)
- **Iwi Collective Partnership** — fisheries collective, Limited Partnership
- **JW Marriott Auckland** — hospitality / tourism, Other
- **Maru Whakatipua** — education partnership, Joint Venture
- **Maunga Hikurangi** — tourism, Company
- **Maunga Hikurangi Tourism** — tourism, Company
- **Miere Hives & Stock** — apiculture / honey production, Company
- **Miro Limited Partnership (Hautupua LP Ltd)** — berry fruit / blueberry, Limited Partnership
- **Nāti Growth** — asset management and commercial, Company
- **Nāti Growth Ltd** — diversified investment / commercial / property / forestry / agriculture / fisheries / tourism / manuka honey, Company
- **Nāti Properties** — property, Company
- **Ngati Porou Berries Ltd** — horticulture, Company (NZ Companies Office 6232774)
- **Ngati Porou Fisheries Ltd** — fisheries, Company (NZ Companies Office 1071218)
- **Ngati Porou Forests Ltd** — forestry, Company (NZ Companies Office 1897585)
- **Ngati Porou Hauora** — health / health services, Company
- **Ngati Porou Hauora Charitable Trust** — health, Trust
- **Ngāti Porou Hauora Charitable Trust** — health, Trust
- …and 43 more.

## Asset portfolio
- tourism: not disclosed
- property_plant_equipment: $48.4M
- property: $12.1M
- forestry: not disclosed
- fisheries_quota: $43.0M
- fisheries: $43.0M
- financial_investments: $167.0M
- farming: not disclosed
- cultural: not disclosed
- biological_assets: $22.0M

## Governance
36 current board members. Names, roles and governance fees are **not** available from this endpoint — iwi people data is deliberately excluded from machine-readable republication for privacy and tikanga reasons.

## Also a registered charity
Pakihiroa Farms Limited (CC42243) — annual returns are on the Charities Register.

## Sources
- [Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Porou (official website)](https://ngatiporou.com) — The iwi’s own published material, which takes precedence over our reproduction of it.
- [Te Puni Kōkiri — Te Kāhui Māngai](https://www.tkm.govt.nz/) — Official directory of iwi, hapū and marae, and of post-settlement governance entities.
- [Te Arawhiti — Office for Māori Crown Relations](https://www.tearawhiti.govt.nz/te-kahui-whakatau-treaty-settlements/) — Deeds of settlement, Crown apologies and settlement legislation.
- [New Zealand Legislation](https://www.legislation.govt.nz/) — Settlement Acts.
- [Charities Services — Charities Register](https://register.charities.govt.nz/) — Annual returns and financial statements for registered charitable PSGEs.
- [New Zealand Companies Office](https://companies-register.companiesoffice.govt.nz/) — Incorporation, status and directors of iwi-owned companies.

## Citation
IwiData NZ, https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-entities/ngati-porou

Methodology: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-methodology · Data sources and corrections: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-data-sources

*Iwi data is a taonga. IwiData republishes information iwi and Crown agencies have already made public, and recognises that authority over Māori data rests with Māori. May contain errors; the iwi’s own published material takes precedence.*
