# Ngāti Tūwharetoa

Central North Island iwi. Guardians of Lake Taupō. CNI Forests settlement. Major geothermal, forestry, and tourism interests.

**Rohe:** Taupō, Central North Island  
**Post-settlement governance entity:** Ngāti Tūwharetoa Settlement Trust  
**Registered members:** 18,732

## Treaty settlement
Settled 2009-07-01. Total settlement $66.0M. Financial redress $66.0M. Given effect by the Central North Island Forests Iwi Collective Settlement 2008.

**Cultural redress:** Central North Island Forests Iwi Collective settlement including 176,000 hectares of CNI forest land (mana whenua to be determined), 25.9% of annual Crown Forest Licence fees until 2043, 3 million NZUs (carbon credits), preferential rights to buy Crown assets (DSP)

## Financials (FY ending 2025-06-30)
| Measure | Value (NZD) |
|---|---|
| Total assets | $106.7M |
| Net assets | $87.6M |
| Total revenue | $9.8M |
| Surplus / (deficit) | $4.3M |

10 financial years held, 2016–2025.

## Commercial entities (16)
- **Hautū-Rangipō Whenua Limited Partnership** — Land / forestry, Limited Partnership
- **He Iwi Kainga Tūwharetoa Limited Partnership** — Housing / social housing, Limited Partnership
- **He Iwi Kāinga Tūwharetoa Limited Partnership** — housing, Limited Partnership
- **Kakano Investment Limited Partnership** — Forestry / timberlands, Limited Partnership
- **Tauwhara ki te Hikuwai Limited Partnership** — Property / commercial, Limited Partnership
- **Te Iwiheke Limited** — Housing, Company (NZ Companies Office 8671307)
- **Te Whare Hono ō Tūwharetoa Limited Partnership** — Property / commercial building, Limited Partnership
- **TST No 1 Limited** — Investment holding, Company (NZ Companies Office 4734420)
- **TST No 2 Limited** — Investment holding, Company
- **Tūwharetoa Carbon Farms Limited** — Carbon credits / forestry, Company
- **Tūwharetoa Forestry Rentals Limited** — Forestry, Company
- **Tūwharetoa Gondola Limited Partnership** — Tourism / ski field, Limited Partnership
- **Tūwharetoa Hau Rau Limited Partnership** — Investment / Māori collective fund, Limited Partnership
- **Tūwharetoa Limited** — Investment holding, Company
- **Tūwharetoa Property Investment Limited Partnership** — Property / Crown leased properties, Limited Partnership
- **Tūwharetoa Property Limited** — Property, Company

## Asset portfolio
- housing: $13.3M
- forestry: $32.1M
- fisheries_quota: not disclosed
- property: $30.4M
- financial_investments: $42.8M
- other: not disclosed

## Governance
18 current board members. Names, roles and governance fees are **not** available from this endpoint — iwi people data is deliberately excluded from machine-readable republication for privacy and tikanga reasons.

## Also a registered charity
Ko Tuwharetoa Te Iwi Charitable Trust (CC49583) — annual returns are on the Charities Register.

## Sources
- [Ngāti Tūwharetoa (official website)](https://www.tuwharetoa.co.nz) — The iwi’s own published material, which takes precedence over our reproduction of it.
- [Te Puni Kōkiri — Te Kāhui Māngai](https://www.tkm.govt.nz/) — Official directory of iwi, hapū and marae, and of post-settlement governance entities.
- [Te Arawhiti — Office for Māori Crown Relations](https://www.tearawhiti.govt.nz/te-kahui-whakatau-treaty-settlements/) — Deeds of settlement, Crown apologies and settlement legislation.
- [New Zealand Legislation](https://www.legislation.govt.nz/) — Settlement Acts.
- [Charities Services — Charities Register](https://register.charities.govt.nz/) — Annual returns and financial statements for registered charitable PSGEs.
- [New Zealand Companies Office](https://companies-register.companiesoffice.govt.nz/) — Incorporation, status and directors of iwi-owned companies.

## Citation
IwiData NZ, https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-entities/ngati-tuwharetoa

Methodology: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-methodology · Data sources and corrections: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-data-sources

*Iwi data is a taonga. IwiData republishes information iwi and Crown agencies have already made public, and recognises that authority over Māori data rests with Māori. May contain errors; the iwi’s own published material takes precedence.*
