# Taranaki Whānui ki Te Upoko o Te Ika

Wellington iwi. Treaty settlement in 2009. Includes Te Ātiawa, Ngāti Tama, Taranaki, Ngāti Ruanui, Ngāti Mutunga in Wellington.

**Rohe:** Wellington  
**Post-settlement governance entity:** Port Nicholson Block Settlement Trust  
**Registered members:** 17,430

## Treaty settlement
Given effect by the Port Nicholson Block Settlement (2009).

**Cultural redress:** Port Nicholson Block Settlement - established as Post Settlement Governance Entity (PSGE) under 2009 Deed of Settlement with the Crown; includes governance over settlements, cultural assets, and treaty relationship

## Financials (FY ending 2025-03-31)
| Measure | Value (NZD) |
|---|---|
| Total assets | $66.0M |
| Net assets | $62.7M |
| Total revenue | $2.6M |
| Surplus / (deficit) | $1.9M |

3 financial years held, 2007–2025.

## Commercial entities (8)
- **Ahumai Ltd** — environmental / cultural / taiao, Company (NZ Companies Office 2130841)
- **Palmerston North Māori Reserve Trust** — whenua / property, Trust
- **Port Nicholson Block Settlement Trust Charitable Trust** — charitable, Trust
- **Tai Hekenga** — property / ground lease consortium, Other
- **Taranaki Whānui Limited** — commercial / property / housing / ground lease investments, Company (NZ Companies Office 2168135)
- **Te Ātiawa ki te Upoko o te Ika a Māui Pōtiki Trust** — fisheries / mandated iwi organisation, Trust
- **Te Rūnanga o Te Āti Awa** — health / social services / cultural, Other
- **Wellington Tenths Trust** — whenua / property, Trust

## Asset portfolio
- property: not disclosed
- fisheries_quota: not disclosed
- financial_investments: not disclosed
- cash: $6.2M

## Governance
13 current board members. Names, roles and governance fees are **not** available from this endpoint — iwi people data is deliberately excluded from machine-readable republication for privacy and tikanga reasons.

## Also a registered charity
Te Atiawa ki te Upoko o Te Ika a Maui Potiki Trust (CC38312) — annual returns are on the Charities Register.

## Sources
- [Taranaki Whānui ki Te Upoko o Te Ika (official website)](https://www.taranakiwhanui.org.nz) — The iwi’s own published material, which takes precedence over our reproduction of it.
- [Te Puni Kōkiri — Te Kāhui Māngai](https://www.tkm.govt.nz/) — Official directory of iwi, hapū and marae, and of post-settlement governance entities.
- [Te Arawhiti — Office for Māori Crown Relations](https://www.tearawhiti.govt.nz/te-kahui-whakatau-treaty-settlements/) — Deeds of settlement, Crown apologies and settlement legislation.
- [New Zealand Legislation](https://www.legislation.govt.nz/) — Settlement Acts.
- [Charities Services — Charities Register](https://register.charities.govt.nz/) — Annual returns and financial statements for registered charitable PSGEs.
- [New Zealand Companies Office](https://companies-register.companiesoffice.govt.nz/) — Incorporation, status and directors of iwi-owned companies.

## Citation
IwiData NZ, https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-entities/taranaki-whanui

Methodology: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-methodology · Data sources and corrections: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-data-sources

*Iwi data is a taonga. IwiData republishes information iwi and Crown agencies have already made public, and recognises that authority over Māori data rests with Māori. May contain errors; the iwi’s own published material takes precedence.*
