# Tātau Tātau o Te Wairoa

Collective of Te Wairoa hapū, Treaty settlement 2023

**Rohe:** Hawkes Bay  
**Post-settlement governance entity:** Tātau Tātau o Te Wairoa Trust  
**Registered members:** 11,631

## Treaty settlement
Settled 2016-01-01. Given effect by the Iwi and Hapū of Te Rohe o Te Wairoa Settlement Act.

**Cultural redress:** Freshwater rights (Wai Māori), land redress through Patunamu and Wharerata forests, and cultural site redress including Ngā Hua o Mōrere

## Financials (FY ending 2025-06-30)
| Measure | Value (NZD) |
|---|---|
| Total assets | $158.2M |
| Net assets | $148.1M |
| Total revenue | $29.4M |
| Commercial revenue | $3.0M |
| Surplus / (deficit) | $14.4M |

2 financial years held, 2024–2025.

## Commercial entities (17)
- **Charitable Trust** — charitable, Trust
- **Ngā Paepae o te Rohe Charitable Trust** — cultural/charitable, Trust
- **Ngā Tokorima a Hinemanuhiri Trust** — beneficial trust, Trust
- **Patunamu Forest Limited** — forestry, Company (NZ Companies Office 6312707)
- **Rongomaiwahine Iwi Trust** — beneficial trust, Trust
- **Tātau Tātau Commercial Limited Partnership** — commercial, Limited Partnership
- **Tātau Tātau Horticulture Limited** — horticulture, Company (NZ Companies Office 8139105)
- **Tātau Tātau Housing Limited** — housing, Company (NZ Companies Office 8279711)
- **Te Hononga o Ngā Awa Trust** — beneficial trust, Trust (NZ Companies Office 8735468)
- **Te Iwi o Rakaipaaka Trust** — beneficial trust, Trust
- **Te Wairoa Tapokorau Mai Tawhiti Trust** — beneficial trust, Trust
- **Te Wairoa Tapokorau Whānui Trust** — beneficial trust, Trust (NZ Companies Office 9344649)
- **Te Whakakī-Nui-a-Rua Trust** — beneficial trust, Trust (NZ Companies Office 8371303)
- **Te Whetu** — media/publishing, Company (NZ Companies Office 9296588)
- **Wai Oranga Limited Partnership** — tourism, Limited Partnership
- **Wairoa Star** — media, Company
- **Wharerata Forest Limited** — forestry, Company (NZ Companies Office 3910978)

## Asset portfolio
- financial_investments: $4.6M
- property: $14.5M
- forestry: not disclosed
- agriculture: not disclosed
- tourism: not disclosed
- cash: $15.1M
- horticulture: $26.8M
- cultural: not disclosed

## Governance
30 current board members. Names, roles and governance fees are **not** available from this endpoint — iwi people data is deliberately excluded from machine-readable republication for privacy and tikanga reasons.

## Also a registered charity
Te Wairoa Tapokorau Whānui Charitable Trust (CC61760) — annual returns are on the Charities Register.

## Sources
- [Tātau Tātau o Te Wairoa (official website)](https://www.ttotw.iwi.nz) — The iwi’s own published material, which takes precedence over our reproduction of it.
- [Te Puni Kōkiri — Te Kāhui Māngai](https://www.tkm.govt.nz/) — Official directory of iwi, hapū and marae, and of post-settlement governance entities.
- [Te Arawhiti — Office for Māori Crown Relations](https://www.tearawhiti.govt.nz/te-kahui-whakatau-treaty-settlements/) — Deeds of settlement, Crown apologies and settlement legislation.
- [New Zealand Legislation](https://www.legislation.govt.nz/) — Settlement Acts.
- [Charities Services — Charities Register](https://register.charities.govt.nz/) — Annual returns and financial statements for registered charitable PSGEs.
- [New Zealand Companies Office](https://companies-register.companiesoffice.govt.nz/) — Incorporation, status and directors of iwi-owned companies.

## Citation
IwiData NZ, https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-entities/tatau-tatau-o-te-wairoa

Methodology: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-methodology · Data sources and corrections: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-data-sources

*Iwi data is a taonga. IwiData republishes information iwi and Crown agencies have already made public, and recognises that authority over Māori data rests with Māori. May contain errors; the iwi’s own published material takes precedence.*
