# Te Ātiawa (Taranaki)

Taranaki iwi. Treaty settlement in 2016. Interests in Taranaki region.

**Rohe:** Taranaki  
**Post-settlement governance entity:** Te Ātiawa (Taranaki) Settlement Trust  
**Registered members:** 11,336

## Treaty settlement
Settled 2014-08-09. Total settlement $87.0M. Financial redress $62.1M. Given effect by the Te Atiawa (Taranaki) Settlement Act 2014.

**Cultural redress:** Cultural redress properties vested in fee simple including Taumata Property (Historic Reserve), Ngā Motu (islands), and other Crown properties available for acquisition at negotiated market value

## Financials (FY ending 2025-06-30)
| Measure | Value (NZD) |
|---|---|
| Total assets | $1.7M |
| Net assets | $691k |
| Total revenue | $1.2M |
| Employees | 0 |

8 financial years held, 2018–2025.

## Commercial entities (29)
- **Ka Uruora** — housing, financial education, savings, Joint Venture (NZ Companies Office 8354332)
- **Ka Uruora Corporate Trustee Limited** — financial wellbeing / housing, Company
- **Ka Uruora Foundation** — foundation, Trust
- **Ka Uruora Foundation Trust** — savings scheme, Trust
- **Ka Uruora Housing** — housing, Company
- **Ka Uruora Housing Trust** — housing, Trust
- **Ka Uruora Trustee Limited** — financial wellbeing, housing, Company (NZ Companies Office 7403616)
- **Ka Uruora Trustee Ltd** — financial wellbeing / housing, Company
- **Moana New Zealand** — fisheries, Company (NZ Companies Office 1019584)
- **Ngā Uri o Te Atiawa** — membership / communications, Trust
- **Ngāmotu Hotels General Partner Limited** — hotel operations management, Company (NZ Companies Office 7137533)
- **Ngāmotu Hotels Limited Partnership** — tourism, hospitality, Limited Partnership
- **Novotel Hotel** — hospitality, hotel operations, Joint Venture
- **Port Nicholson Fisheries Limited Partnership** — fisheries, Limited Partnership
- **Pūai Tangaroa Limited Partnership** — fisheries, koura quota, Limited Partnership
- **Pūainuku Pastures Limited Partnership** — agriculture, dairy, Limited Partnership
- **Pūainuku Tangaroa Limited Partnership** — fisheries, Other
- **Pūainuku Vines Limited Partnership** — agriculture, vineyards, Limited Partnership
- **Pūainuku Wines Limited Partnership** — viticulture, Other
- **Tai Hekenga Limited Partnership** — property, Crown leaseback, Limited Partnership
- **Tai-Hekenga Limited Partnership** — property investment, Crown leasebacks, Limited Partnership
- **Te Atiawa (Taranaki) Holdings Limited** — fisheries, Company (NZ Companies Office 1828794)
- **Te Atiawa Iwi Charitable Trust** — charitable distributions, cultural, social activities, Trust
- **Te Atiawa Iwi Holdings Limited Partnership** — investment, commercial, property development, housing, Limited Partnership
- **Te Atiawa Iwi Holdings Limited Partnership (TAIHLP)** — commercial / investment / property development / fisheries, Limited Partnership
- …and 4 more.

## Asset portfolio
- cultural_redress: not disclosed
- property_development: $11.5M
- property: $22.8M
- fisheries_quota: $2.1M
- financial_investments: $71.3M
- farming: not disclosed
- viticulture: not disclosed
- tourism: $4.2M

## Governance
10 current board members. Names, roles and governance fees are **not** available from this endpoint — iwi people data is deliberately excluded from machine-readable republication for privacy and tikanga reasons.

## Also a registered charity
Te Atiawa Iwi Charitable Trust (CC54621) — annual returns are on the Charities Register.

## Sources
- [Te Ātiawa (Taranaki) (official website)](https://teatiawa.iwi.nz) — The iwi’s own published material, which takes precedence over our reproduction of it.
- [Te Puni Kōkiri — Te Kāhui Māngai](https://www.tkm.govt.nz/) — Official directory of iwi, hapū and marae, and of post-settlement governance entities.
- [Te Arawhiti — Office for Māori Crown Relations](https://www.tearawhiti.govt.nz/te-kahui-whakatau-treaty-settlements/) — Deeds of settlement, Crown apologies and settlement legislation.
- [New Zealand Legislation](https://www.legislation.govt.nz/) — Settlement Acts.
- [Charities Services — Charities Register](https://register.charities.govt.nz/) — Annual returns and financial statements for registered charitable PSGEs.
- [New Zealand Companies Office](https://companies-register.companiesoffice.govt.nz/) — Incorporation, status and directors of iwi-owned companies.

## Citation
IwiData NZ, https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-entities/te-atiawa-taranaki

Methodology: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-methodology · Data sources and corrections: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-data-sources

*Iwi data is a taonga. IwiData republishes information iwi and Crown agencies have already made public, and recognises that authority over Māori data rests with Māori. May contain errors; the iwi’s own published material takes precedence.*
