# Te Ātiawa o Te Waka-a-Māui

Top of the South iwi. Treaty settlement in 2014.

**Rohe:** Te Tau Ihu (Nelson/Marlborough)  
**Post-settlement governance entity:** Te Ātiawa o Te Waka-a-Māui Trust  
**Registered members:** 4,158

## Treaty settlement
No Treaty settlement is recorded for this entity in our data. That is not evidence no settlement exists — Te Arawhiti is authoritative.

## Financials (FY ending 2025-06-30)
| Measure | Value (NZD) |
|---|---|
| Total assets | $87.2M |
| Net assets | $85.5M |
| Total revenue | $7.4M |
| Commercial revenue | $2.9M |
| Surplus / (deficit) | $2.0M |

## Commercial entities (6)
- **Te Ātiawa Asset Holding Company Ltd** — asset holding, Company (NZ Companies Office 1902383)
- **Te Ātiawa LP** — holding company, Limited Partnership
- **Te Ātiawa Manawhenua ki Te Tauihu Trust** — governance, Trust
- **Te Ātiawa o Te Waka-a-Māui Holdings LP** — holding company, Limited Partnership
- **Te Ātiawa o Te Waka-a-Māui Ltd** — commercial operations, Company
- **Tōtaranui Te Ātiawa General Partner Ltd** — general partner, Company

## Asset portfolio
- financial_investments: $29.2M
- property: $15.5M
- forestry: $15.8M
- fisheries_quota: $4.7M
- aquaculture: $4.6M
- carbon_credits: $8.7M
- other: not disclosed
- housing: not disclosed

## Governance
12 current board members. Names, roles and governance fees are **not** available from this endpoint — iwi people data is deliberately excluded from machine-readable republication for privacy and tikanga reasons.

## Also a registered charity
Te Atiawa Asset Holding Company Limited (CC42380) — annual returns are on the Charities Register.

## Sources
- [Te Ātiawa o Te Waka-a-Māui (official website)](https://teatiawatrust.co.nz) — The iwi’s own published material, which takes precedence over our reproduction of it.
- [Te Puni Kōkiri — Te Kāhui Māngai](https://www.tkm.govt.nz/) — Official directory of iwi, hapū and marae, and of post-settlement governance entities.
- [Charities Services — Charities Register](https://register.charities.govt.nz/) — Annual returns and financial statements for registered charitable PSGEs.
- [New Zealand Companies Office](https://companies-register.companiesoffice.govt.nz/) — Incorporation, status and directors of iwi-owned companies.

## Citation
IwiData NZ, https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-entities/te-atiawa-te-waka-a-maui

Methodology: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-methodology · Data sources and corrections: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-data-sources

*Iwi data is a taonga. IwiData republishes information iwi and Crown agencies have already made public, and recognises that authority over Māori data rests with Māori. May contain errors; the iwi’s own published material takes precedence.*
