# Waikato-Tainui

Major Waikato iwi. Raupatu (land confiscation) settlement in 1995 ($170M). Tainui Group Holdings manages commercial assets exceeding $1.5B.

**Rohe:** Waikato  
**Post-settlement governance entity:** Waikato Raupatu Lands Trust  
**Registered members:** 89,609

## Treaty settlement
Settled 1995-01-01. Total settlement $170.0M. Financial redress $170.0M. Given effect by the Waikato-Tainui Raupatu Claims (Waikato River) Settlement Act 2010.

**Cultural redress:** Raupatu settlement in 1995 addressing 1.2 million acres of wrongfully confiscated Waikato-Tainui lands; Waikato River Settlement in 2008; remaining claims still in negotiation for west coast harbours (Kaawhia, Aotea, Whaaingaroa, Manukau) and other outstanding matters

## Financials (FY ending 2024-03-31)
| Measure | Value (NZD) |
|---|---|
| Total assets | $2.40B |
| Net assets | $1.90B |
| Total revenue | $141.6M |
| Surplus / (deficit) | $106.3M |

8 financial years held, 2015–2024.

## Commercial entities (35)
- **Golden Koi Industries GP Limited** — investment, Company (NZ Companies Office 5601165)
- **Hamilton Riverview Hotel Limited** — tourism / hospitality, Company (NZ Companies Office 878655)
- **Ngaa Marae Toopuu** — cultural, marae support, Kiingitanga, Trust
- **Raukura Moana Seafoods Limited** — fishing, Company (NZ Companies Office 846614)
- **Raukura Whare Limited** — property / investment, Company (NZ Companies Office 708527)
- **River Co-Management Fund** — investment, Trust
- **River Initiative Fund** — investment, Trust
- **Ruakura Limited** — property, Company
- **Sir Robert Mahuta Endowment Fund** — investment, research and development, Trust
- **Tainui Auckland Airport Hotel LP** — hotel, Limited Partnership
- **Tainui Development Limited** — property, Company
- **Tainui Group Holdings Limited** — Real estate, Natural Resources, Infrastructure, Private Equities, Company (NZ Companies Office 899947)
- **TDL No. 1 Limited** — hotel, Company (NZ Companies Office 2287606)
- **TDL No. 2 Limited** — direct investment, Company (NZ Companies Office 4985740)
- **TDL No. 3 Limited** — direct investment, Company
- **Te Arataura** — tribal governance, executive board, Other
- **Te Whakakitenga o Waikato** — Tribal governance, Education, Health, Housing, Environmental, Other
- **TGH Direct Investments Limited** — direct investment, Company (NZ Companies Office 5514546)
- **TGH Equities Limited** — equities, Company (NZ Companies Office 899340)
- **TGH Farms and Forestry Limited** — primary industries, Company (NZ Companies Office 5528406)
- **TGH Fixed Income Limited** — property, Company (NZ Companies Office 801456)
- **TGH Hotels Limited** — hotel, Company
- **TGH Primary Industries Limited** — primary industries, Company (NZ Companies Office 5521203)
- **TGH Property Limited** — property, Company (NZ Companies Office 713027)
- **The Base Limited** — property, Company (NZ Companies Office 1471605)
- …and 10 more.

## Asset portfolio
- property: $1.04B
- infrastructure: $63.7M
- forestry: not disclosed
- fisheries_quota: not disclosed
- financial_investments: $294.0M
- farming: not disclosed
- cultural: not disclosed

## Governance
38 current board members. Names, roles and governance fees are **not** available from this endpoint — iwi people data is deliberately excluded from machine-readable republication for privacy and tikanga reasons.

## Also a registered charity
TGH Farms and Forestry Limited (CC51501) — annual returns are on the Charities Register.

## Sources
- [Waikato-Tainui (official website)](https://waikatotainui.com) — The iwi’s own published material, which takes precedence over our reproduction of it.
- [Te Puni Kōkiri — Te Kāhui Māngai](https://www.tkm.govt.nz/) — Official directory of iwi, hapū and marae, and of post-settlement governance entities.
- [Te Arawhiti — Office for Māori Crown Relations](https://www.tearawhiti.govt.nz/te-kahui-whakatau-treaty-settlements/) — Deeds of settlement, Crown apologies and settlement legislation.
- [New Zealand Legislation](https://www.legislation.govt.nz/) — Settlement Acts.
- [Charities Services — Charities Register](https://register.charities.govt.nz/) — Annual returns and financial statements for registered charitable PSGEs.
- [New Zealand Companies Office](https://companies-register.companiesoffice.govt.nz/) — Incorporation, status and directors of iwi-owned companies.

## Citation
IwiData NZ, https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-entities/waikato-tainui

Methodology: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-methodology · Data sources and corrections: https://iwidata.co.nz/iwi-data-sources

*Iwi data is a taonga. IwiData republishes information iwi and Crown agencies have already made public, and recognises that authority over Māori data rests with Māori. May contain errors; the iwi’s own published material takes precedence.*
